The Edwards Dinner Party

Host Gifts: Riley Writes Scout

2 Comments

One topic I hope to talk about here at the Dinner Party is hosting and being hosted. Hosting guests in your home/apartment/studio is a great way to get to know people better and it’s important to be able to be a good guest as well. This post falls into the second category: ideas for being a good guest.

Earlier in the year, my husband and I went to visit friends in DC! We met when we were both living there, went to the same church, and had lots of mutual friends. We were so excited after being away for more than a year to go back to DC and visit. Our friends there were kind to offer to host us! I stayed with a house of girls and my husband stayed with his old roommates. We had so much fun visiting so many close friends and being in our old city!

After we left, I wanted to send the girls a thank you for hosting me. I thought about giving them a single gift that they could all enjoy in the house, but for a few reasons decided to get them each their own gift. I decided on a print from Riley Writes Scout! A talented friend from college started RWS, a lovely shop with hand drawn designs ranging from a series of hymns, to custom invitations, and stationary. These 5×7 prints of “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing”, one of my favorite hymns, made the perfect “thank you”.

RWS Come Thou Fount

RWS Joyful Joyful

This is another favorite hymn of mine! It was the recessional at our wedding, so it has special place in our hearts.

One nice way to make sure you don’t forget to send a thank you note is to take a note with you on your trip and write it before you leave. You write the note before you leave for home and leave it with your host!

Do you have a go-to host or hostess gift? And what do you give a house of guys as a thank you? We sent them Omaha Steaks! Seriously 🙂

Visit Riley Writes Scout’s site to check out more of her fabulous work.

All photos courtesy of Katherine, creator and owner of Riley Writes Scout.

Author: Sarah

Hello! My name is Sarah. I am a wife, a middle daughter, and a girl who loves to cook and host friends in our home. Thanks for stopping by the Edwards Dinner Party!

2 thoughts on “Host Gifts: Riley Writes Scout

  1. This post is awesome! And I must say, I do love this gift idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

