The Edwards Dinner Party

Edwards Test Kitchen: Chicken with Broccoli and Peanut Sauce

1 Comment

French culinary tradition teaches that there are five “Mother Sauces” from which nearly every other sauce can be made. Included in this list are the heavenly bechamel and hollandaise sauces (the French know a thing or two about food). This post isn’t about any of those mother sauces, but it IS about a sauce that is on my personal list of mother sauces: peanut sauce.

It’s hard to beat peanut sauce in my book. It has peanut butter; it has a little tang from soy sauce; and it has just enough spice from chili sauce to make it absolutely addictive. It makes a plain ole chicken breast seem like a really special, decadent, save-this-for-special-occasions kind of meal.

IMG_3634

When I found this recipe for Quick Chicken with Baby Brocoli and Peanut Sauce on the Splendid Table website and realized how simple it was to make my own peanut sauce, I was determined to try it!

IMG_3621

IMG_3628

I think this meal is going to be in our regular rotation for a while! It was so easy and we made it start to finish in about 30 minutes! Serve with rice and maybe bok choy.

A few tips:
-We doubled the sauce and reserved 1/4 of the doubled amount for dipping (I wasn’t kidding when I said I like peanut sauce)
-My grocery store didn’t have broccolini, so I used broccoli and just cut the florets into small pieces
-The recipe calls for smooth peanut butter, but I like crunchy better, so I used that and it was totally fine
-If you plan ahead (and can resist the peanut sauce’s siren song), try marinating the chicken in the sauce. I think it could only enhance the flavor.
-I got the Toasted Sesame Seed Oil at an organic grocery, but you can probably find it at your normal store! Check in the section with other Asian food ingredients.

I hope you enjoy this meal and thanks for reading!

Author: Sarah

Hello! My name is Sarah. I am a wife, a middle daughter, and a girl who loves to cook and host friends in our home. Thanks for stopping by the Edwards Dinner Party!

One thought on “Edwards Test Kitchen: Chicken with Broccoli and Peanut Sauce

  1. Pingback: Five for Friday: Sources of Inspiration | The Edwards Dinner Party

Leave a Reply

