The Edwards Dinner Party

Infused Oil Follow Up

Leave a comment

Hey there! I hope your week is going well! We’ve almost made it to the weekend and W and I are excited that ours will include family time and celebrating some dear friends getting married. Lots of fun ahead!

I wanted to give a little follow up to the Infused Olive Oil post and let you know how things turned out. You may remember that I wasn’t so sure about how the rosemary oil would turn out and I was more confident about the crushed red pepper. Well…

IMG_3397

The rosemary was DELICIOUS! I let both oils sit for about 36 hours and then I couldn’t wait any longer. I bought a loaf of crusty, grainy bread, sliced it up, popped open the bottle of oil, and dove in. W and I didn’t even move the bread from the cutting board or the plate from our kitchen counter… and I still felt like I was eating at a lovely Italian restaurant! ha!

The crushed red pepper was good, but the rosemary stole the show. I think next time I’ll try using a variety of pepper like this blog suggested. Later that week, I used the red pepper oil in some Curry Lime Hummus (recipe to come) and it was pretty awesome. I felt like I finally figured out how to layer flavor and I was so excited—that will come in handy when I’m on Chopped one day, right?

IMG_3394

What else did we do with the oil? We actually found lots of ways to use it! Just about any time I would have normally used plain olive oil, I substituted the infused. The red pepper oil made a great salad dressing with white wine vinegar, and gave sautéed kale and extra punch!

If you’ve tried infusing oil, I hope you had as much fun as I did! I will definitely try it again!

Author: Sarah

Hello! My name is Sarah. I am a wife, a middle daughter, and a girl who loves to cook and host friends in our home. Thanks for stopping by the Edwards Dinner Party!

Leave a Reply

